M8000 Inquiry

Hi all, couple of questions! I'm brand new to the Moultrie line of cameras having just picked up 2 of the M8000's. First things first... Both are in M8000 boxes but I don't think they're both 8000's. The one is the "white bark" pattern but the other is the more traditional camo pattern so I'm almost thinking it's an 8000I. I already have them in the woods so I can't check them out at night to see whether they're both visible at night. Anyone know just based on the serial numbers if you can distinguish between the 8000 & 8000I?

Next, what's the deal with availability? I've been watching these for months when they first came out in '19 and now it seems like they don't even exist? I can't find anything on the Moultrie site about them? I wanted to find out if the rechargeable 12-volt battery box was worth picking up for these cameras or not.

Appreciate any insight

Comments

• I think you may be correct on the camera models. I'm not aware of way to look them up by serial numbers, but I'm sure Moultrie could assist if you wanted to call or chat with them.

I highly recommend the battery boxes. I have one on an X series camera that is almost one year on a single charge. That's a cellular cam so it's pulling more juice than a normal camera.

• edited June 1

Welcome to the forum. I have 2 8000's and plan on picking up a 3rd this summer. They take great pics and I think you'll be pleased with them. They should be the same camo, so most likely one is the 8000i. The battery box all depends on how you use the cam and how often you check it. In pic mode not set on corn taking a ton of pics, then 2 sets of alkaline batteries should get you through a full year. If you do video, then definitely go with a battery box. Moultrie cams have poor battery life in video mode. I have one hooked up to a battery box, but mainly because I have the box not really out of necessity.

• edited June 1